Tags

,

Hello. My name is Miranda and this is my craft blog.

When I was younger, I dabbled in crafty activities more than my friends, but not so much so that I would consider anything to have been an actual hobby. I was mostly obsessed with friendship bracelets and beaded necklaces. I did a lot of crochet, but never had the patience to finish an entire blanket. I liked cross-stitch for awhile. And then I discovered the internet and boys (in that order), and all things crafty got boxed up and moved to the basement.

Four point five years ago I met my husband Brent (hubba hubba) who gifted me cake decorating classes during our first Christmas. That was an awesome, artistic way for me to be crafty as an adult. Except it involved a lot of calories, and I really don’t need much more of those. Right before we got married in fall 2010, I decided to make a scrapbook for my mom and MIL with all of our engagement pictures. I fell in love with scrap-booking and poured a ton of money into it. It evolved into card-making (which I still love), but ultimately I grew bored with it all because 1) I don’t have much to scrapbook, and 2) I don’t really send out that many cards.

Over this past summer, Brent and I were driving in the mountains and we stopped in a quilt shop. The ladies seemed really cool, and the quilts on the wall blew my mind – I had never seen anything so colorful and…precise? I like it when lines match up exactly and all things look straight and perfect. I picked up a pattern for a table runner, but skipped out on the fabric because it seemed expensive. I have since learned that it’s all expensive 🙂

Anyway, I’ve made a few things over the last few months, but finally quilted something in December (and now January). I’ve joined up to two “block of the month” (BOM) style clubs, and I’ve included pictures below to show the first two along with two Christmas pillows I made for my mom and grandma this year.

Thanks for stopping by!

Sugar Block Club BOM #1

Sugar Block Club BOM #1

Lucky Stars BOM #1

Lucky Stars BOM #1

Christmas Snowball Pillow #1

Christmas Snowball Pillow #1

 

Christmas Snowball Pillow #2

Christmas Snowball Pillow #2

 

 

