Long time no talk! er.. Write? Anyway.

Sorry for the silence over here – I had a change in job function (same company) about 2 weeks after my last blog post. So, I’ve been putting in a ton of hours and haven’t really had much time for craftiness. Well, at least not a lot of time to blog about craftiness! I’ve actually put together a few cool things in the last couple of months, which you can keep track of through my flickr account if you’d like: http://www.flickr.com/photos/mirandarae/sets/72157632095507543/

Here are a few highlights:

Finished the MIL's pillow. Now two mug rugs and I'm done!

This pillow went to live with my MIL in Arizona – she was pretty happy with this year’s Mother’s Day gift! I think it turned out really, really cool. It was also my first hand-sewn binding, so that’s cool. I don’t see myself ever machine binding the back on ever again.

Sewing cover front

I then made a sewing machine cover after I took a class learning FMQ feathers. I love it and actually use the cover quite often, which is nice.

Aeroplane bag, pattern via sewsweetness

Any finally, the Aeroplane bag (pattern via Sew Sweetness) – I have used this bag almost every single day since making it. I see many of these in my future! I saw many, many reviews of this bag claiming it only took a few hours; in case anyone is interested, I think it took more like 15-20 hours. But that includes ironing, cutting and the patchwork/quilting. The bag pattern is written as such to use a solid piece of fabric, so I’m sure that would cut significant time out. But still.

Presently I’m working on the Impromptu quilt with a few other participants on Flickr. So far, it’s been a test of my patience with my never-ending quest for the perfect 1/4 inch seam. Maybe someday I’ll find it! I’ll post some pictures as soon as I get to a point where pictures show something blog-worthy.

Other than the job change and working on a few sewing projects, not a whole ton has been going on. Summer (weather) is here, which has been nice. We seem to have something going on every weekend – something I love and hate at the same time! Brent and I have been trying hard(er) to lose weight this year. We have been walking and hiking a lot and trying to get outside as much as possible. Sorta makes sewing a back-burner thing right now, but I’m trying to find a balance.

That’s about all I can think of for now. I’ll try to jump on here and share more stuff a bit more often.

Miranda

